Merry Christmas

To all who read my blog, I would like to wish a very Merry Christmas.  Whether you are a friend of mine, or whether you found my blog on some search engine somewhere, or whether you are my Aunt Star who calls me up when I don’t post, Merry Christmas.

When people think of this season, they think of trees, presents, cookies, and eggnog.  However, we know that it is much different then that.  It is to celebrate the birth of our Savior, Jesus Christ.  Sometimes, I think we celebrate it too much.  What do I mean?  Well, the reason He came to earth was to save mankind.  It is in His death that we take hope; it is in His death that we are saved.   I don’t have anything against celebrating His birth, but I think that we need to also always need to remember the death, and the resurrection.

Think of it like a movie.  The beginning is important for us to understand the story, however, it is the middle that shows the plot, and the end that clears things up and resolves everything.  If you watch just the beginning of a movie, you are left hanging.  What happens after He is born?  Likewise, if you watch just the end, you are left without a history, and the characters do not develop like they should.

So this holiday season, as we celebrate His birth, also remember His death.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

