Easter Sunday

To tell you the truth, I’m not sure how this post will turn out, for this simple reason: I still don’t fully understand the death and resurrection of Christ.  Oh, I’ve read it several times, heard sermons on it, just like every other Christian probably has.  But I still don’t fully understand it, and truthfully, I don’t think most of us can.

We’re human, we’re selfish, we’re sinful.  How can we, with all our faults, understand the sovereign, selfless, and sinless character of Christ?  How can we understand His willingness to go to the cross, the most torturous way to die, to save people like us, who sin, who rebel, who even reject Him and His sacrifice?

How can we understand that or get our mind around it?  I can’t fully.  I have vague ideas, impressions, and until I stand with Christ no longer in this world, I don’t think I have a chance of understanding.

Does anyone else feel this way?  Can we truly understand the glory of God, and the willingness to give His Son?  It’s greater then anything we could ever dream of.

Compare all of this to what the world wants to give us for Easter.  Bunnies, candy, and fun.  All of which center on our selfishness.  Compare to God’s plan.  He gave His son, He gave us salvation, He was selfless.

I’ll be the first to admit I like chocolate, but compared to God’s plan, it is nothing.

Have a happy Easter everyone.

Victoria

P.S. If everyone could keep my mom in their prayers that would be great.  Her back is giving her a lot of pain right now.  It hasn’t happened for over a year, but somehow it did again.  It’s nothing serious, usually inflicted by eating too much potatoes and other things in that botanical family, but if you could pray for a quick healing that would be great.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

