Diligence vs. Laziness

I don’t know about any of you, but I am a major procrastinator. (which might be why this is my first blog post in a loooong while. My apologies for that). For instance, I could go get to school, or I could sit here and read another chapter in my new book. Unfortunately, I tend to choose the later option, and after one chapter, I decide to read another, and maybe another, until the day slips by and my school is no where near done.

Proverbs 12:27
27 The lazy man does not roast what he took in hunting,
But diligence is man’s precious possession.

Romans 12:6 & 8
6 Having then gifts differing according to the grace that is given to us, let us use them: if prophecy, let us prophesy in proportion to our faith;

8 he who exhorts, in exhortation; he who gives, with liberality; he who leads, with diligence; he who shows mercy, with cheerfulness.

God obviously believes that diligence is important. In Proverbs look how it is called a precious possession, and in Romans look how diligence is listed for a leader.

1 Timothy 5:9-10
9 Do not let a widow under sixty years old be taken into the number, and not unless she has been the wife of one man,

10 well reported for good works: if she has brought up children, if she has lodged strangers, if she has washed the saints’ feet, if she has relieved the afflicted, if she has diligently followed every good work.
 

Notice also that when giving orders about widows being brought into the church, how they too are required to have diligence.

There are consequences when we are lazy and procrastinate. I used school as an example above, and I can tell you I’m feeling the extent of my putting it off. This summer I still will be doing school; chemistry, spelling and vocabulary, to be exact. It is not only taking up my summer, but taking up time that I could be spending with my family or relaxing.

But there can be worse consequences. God is not a God of laziness. He says in His word:

Proverbs 19:15
15 Laziness casts one into a deep sleep,
And an idle person will suffer hunger.
 
Ecclesiastes 10:18
18 Because of laziness the building decays,
And through idleness of hands the house leaks.
 
Proverbs 24:30-34
30 I went by the field of the lazy man,
And by the vineyard of the man devoid of understanding;
31 And there it was, all overgrown with thorns;
Its surface was covered with nettles;
Its stone wall was broken down.
32 When I saw it, I considered it well;
I looked on it and received instruction:
33 A little sleep, a little slumber,
A little folding of the hands to rest;
34 So shall your poverty come like a prowler,
And your need like an armed man.
 
 It is not a pretty picture that the Bible paints for a lazy man, especially when laziness is compared to diligence
 
Proverbs 12:24

24 The hand of the diligent will rule,
But the lazy man will be put to forced labor.

 
Proverbs 13:4

4 The soul of a lazy man desires, and has nothing;
But the soul of the diligent shall be made rich.
Laziness does not glorify the Lord, yet “whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.” (1 Corinthians 10:31). Therefore, when we are lazy, we go against a command given to us in scripture, and therefore we are in sin.

Since laziness is a sin, and diligence is a virtue, we need to stop being lazy and start being diligent. But how? For me, I tackle it head on best. Just make yourself stop being lazy. Set down your book and get to work. Force yourself to be diligent. It’s hard, but the rewards of doing it will greatly outweigh the consequences of you not doing it. It’s something I have been struggling with for a long time, but I think, with work, we can all overcome it.

God Bless,

Victoria

,

  1. #1 by LnddMiles on July 21, 2009 - Tuesday, July 21, 2009

    The best information i have found exactly here. Keep going Thank you

Leave a Reply

