I’m Only Human

Yay for Google pictures

I’m only human… True, I am only human, but that’s not what we mean when we use that phrase, is it? We’re not talking about our DNA structure, or our soul, or whatever makes humans human. No, we’re using at as an excuse for our actions. I thought of this the other day when writing my last post, and I considered using the phrase to excuse me not posting.

 
And then I thought, isn’t it rather terrible to make such excuses? Yes, as humans we aren’t perfect, and we make mistakes, and we don’t post on our blogs as often as we should. But is that a reason to let ourselves off the hook?
 
I don’t think so. I think we are responsible for our actions, and though we won’t ever get it all right, in the end it is my fault that I didn’t post, and it wasn’t because “I’m only human”, it was because I didn’t get myself to do it. We have to take responsibility for what we do, and what we don’t do. If we keep blaming our actions on something we can’t change – being human, that is – we’re never going to grow and get stronger and try to fix our actions. If I accepted the fact that I did something just because I’m flawed, I’m never going to try to fix that flaw in me…
 
Anyway, not sure how much sense that all makes, but hopefully it does. We’re never going to be perfect, but we do have to try to grow better every day. It’s our responsibility. I guess what I’m saying is we CAN fight against the fallen nature inside of us that allows us to make mistakes. Will we ever completely win? No, not until we stand in front of our Savior, I don’t think we will. But we can make progress against it. So no more excuses people?
, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

